Posted by & filed under Golf News.

Tampa, Florida – The spring season is off to a notable start for [goingout to=””]Chase Koepka[/goingout] as he has yet to even kick off for the 14th spot of the USF men’s golf team.

Koepka, a talented sophomore born in West Palm Beach became the first golf player in USF program history to be included in the The Ben Hogan Award Watch List, declared by the Golf Association of America, Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG) on Wednesday.

Considered as the most prestigious award for men’s college golf, [goingout to=””]The Ben Hogan Award[/goingout] is presented yearly to the best NCAA individual from the Division 1, 2, 3 or levels NAIA and NJCAA. The award includes all collegiate and amateur competitions in a span of 12 months and the awards committee cast their votes within the stage of the process.

Koepka became one of the top 30 golfers to be recorded in the hot list by pulling off fairly a bit on the course, a significant move since the time he joined the Bulls. The Florida-born golfer was hailed No. 6 by Golfweek after completing the fall with single title victories at the Collegiate Classic and Rees Jones Invitational. Currently, Koepka has recorded nine top-10 achievements and 11 in the top 25 rank following his historical feat at the Big East when he was named the first golfer to grab the freshman and player of the year last spring.

Prior to the favorable season, Koepka was included among the 15 players to play on the match event of the 113th U.S. Amateur Championship. He placed 2nd at the PGA National Golf club qualifying event, 3rd at The Players Amateur and 27th at the U.S. Amateur qualifier.

Head coach Chris Malloy recently told Golfweek that Koepka is the best that he has coached so far at this point. He believes that if Koepka works hard he will surely get it since he’s playing great golf.

Later this year, the Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee is set to proclaim the finalists and winners for the most celebrated award. On April 16, the top 10 semifinalists will be proclaimed and three finalists will be named on May 7. The announcement of the winner will happen at a black-tie banquet on Sunday, May 18 at the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *